Connecting the Stages of Second Language Acquisition to Instruction

A basic understanding of second language acquisition (SLA) theory can prove invaluable when working with English Learners (ELs). It allows educators to understand what their students are experiencing as they progress through the various stages.
Underlying Principles
There are five stages of second language acquisition that every student progresses through:
• Pre-production
• Early production
• Speech emergence
• Intermediate fluency
• Advanced fluency
There are practices that support effective instruction for students at each stage of language acquisition.
All teachers are teachers of language. By knowing the characteristics of each stage, the educator can more effectively plan instruction that makes content comprehensible to students.
Focus on Dynamic Language Learning Progressions
Exploring Facilitative Discourse Moves for English Learners
Additional Resources

Translate »